Delta: 9 Arrested For Stealing Permanent Voter’s Card

[caption id="attachment_292" align="alignright" width="500"]Aduba Aduba[/caption]

The Delta State Police Command has arrested nine persons for allegedly stealing about 1,301 permanent voters’ cards meant for distribution in Ughelli South and Ethiope West local government areas of the state.

Spokesperson to the Police Command, Celestine Kalu, who confirmed the arrests, said the alleged crime took place at units 17 and 18 of Jeremi ward 2 in Oginibo, unit 12 at Ekakpamre ward in Ughelli South and unit six Erha-Abraka in Ethiope West local governments respectively.

She disclosed that 503, 654 and 144 permanent voters’ cards were stolen from the wards in the two local government areas.

Of the stolen cards, the police spokesperson disclosed, 1154 have so far been recovered, leaving the 144 stolen at unit 6 Erho-Abraka in Ethiope West Local Government Area.

Those arrested were Bulless Mrikugbe (m), Raymond Justus Ese (m), Josiah Shetode (m), Felix Obokan (m), while four others, whose names were not disclosed are said to be assisting the police in their investigations.



Latest in this Category