Nigeria Police Appoints 8 DIGs


[caption id="attachment_252" align="alignleft" width="252"]Okiro Okiro[/caption]

The Police Service Commission, on Tuesday, announced the promotion of eight Assistant Inspectors-General of Police (AIGs) and two Commissioners of Police to the rank of Deputy Inspectors-General of Police.

Ferdinand U. Ekpe, Assistant Director of Press and Public Relations of the PSC, said in a statement issued in Abuja that the AIGs promoted to DIGs are Dan’Azumi Job Doma, Mamman Ibrahim Tsafe, David O. Omojola, Solomon E. Arase, Christopher K. Katso and Salihu Argungu Hashidu, while Hilary Opara and Sotonye L. Wakama were promoted from the rank of Commissioner of Police to DIGs.

The promotions are with effect from August, 19, 2014. The Commission also re-affirmed its earlier decision that promotions from the rank of Assistant Commissioner of Police to AIGs will only be done after its interviews with deserving officers.

Chairman of the Commission, Sir Mike Mbama Okiro, while congratulating the newly promoted officers, enjoined them to see their elevation as opportunity to serve, imploring them to use their wealth of experience in uplifting the Nigeria Police Force.

He added that the Commission had earlier at its 6th plenary, held on August 12, reviewed the time limit within which aggrieved police officers could lodge complaints against punishment meted to them to 30 days from the receipt of the decisions.

He added that PSC has also given opportunity to aggrieved officers to appeal directly to the Commission where an action on its decision is not implemented by the Police authorities as directed by it.


Latest in this Category