Fayose Denies Assembly Speaker’s Impeachment

[caption id="attachment_597" align="alignleft" width="216"]Fayose Fayose[/caption]

Ekiti State Governor Ayodele Fayose has denied media reports that the speaker of the state House of Assembly, Adewale Omirin, was Monday impeached by seven lawmakers loyal to him. The lawmakers, formerly of the All Progressives Congress, APC,  defected to the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, during the governor's swearing-in ceremony held at the Olukayode Stadium, Ado-Ekiti.
Idowu Adelusi, Fayose's Chief Press Secretary, in a statement, said the nine, and not seven, lawmakers met and approved a list of caretaker-nominees for local  Governments and special aides of the governor.
"Nine members of the House sat today to approve the commissioner nominees, Special Advisers and the Local Government Caretaker Committees for the 16 local government councils," he explained.
Adelusi did not mention the names of the nine lawmakers though, he rather defended that "there are 26 members in the House and the House standing order allows a quorum of 9 members to sit and appoint speaker plenipotentiary (sic) to preside." For him, "what transpired in the House is within the law."
The APC dominated Assembly previously declined to deliberate on the list, which is sub-judice. According to them, the former caretaker committee members inaugurated by immediate past Governor, Kayode Fayemi, have filed a suit challenging their removal from office.  The lawmakers claimed it negate the House Standing Rules to dabble into a matter in litigation.

Latest in this Category