Lagos State To Honour Ex-football Stars

Lagos State Government has said that 13 former Stars of the Federation Cup, then known as Challenge Cup will be honored and rewarded on 23 November, 2014 during the finals of 2014 Federation Cup in Lagos State.

The finals which will hold at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Surulere, Lagos and will see defending champions, Enyimba Football Club trade tackles with Dolphins Football Club in the Men's final. The finals of the Women category will be between defending champions, Rivers Angels and Sunshine Queens of Ondo State.

Commissioner for Sports, Waidi Enitan-Oshodi said Lagos is ready to host the event. He informed 13 former stars of the competition will be honored and rewarded by the State government for their contribution to the competition. Ayo Ositelu, Aloysius Atuegbu, Ogidi Ibeabuchi and Sunday Dankoro will receive posthumous award. Herbert Omohkaye; George Hassan; Yomi Peters; Peter Fregene; Kadiri Ikhana; Henry Ogboe; Festus Bolaji Okubule; Jonathan Nwaiwu and Peter Anieke will also be honoured.

Seyi Akinwunmi, first Vice-president of the Nigeria Football Federation, NFF, who represented President of the NFF, Amaju Pinnick at a media parley in Lagos on Sunday thanked the Lagos State Government on behalf of the NFF for the support it  has given so far to the Federation. He said the Federation is ready to work hard to make the competition more attractive.

Latest in this Category