Ajimobi Wins Oyo State APC Guber Primaries

??The governor of Oyo state, Abiola Ajimobi, has been declared winner of the All Progressives Congress, APC, governorship primary in the state.

Ajimobi polled ?4,662 votes to defeat his only remaining challenger, Ayo Lam-Adesina, who had 22 votes. The third contestant, a former Commissioner for ?Justice and Attorney General of the state, Adebayo Shittu, did not participate in the election.

Shittu? had petitioned the five-man electoral committee over issues bordering on ward delegate congress and delegates that voted during the exercise. The exercise held at the main bowl of Lekan Salami Stadium, Ibadan.

?Four thousand seven hundred and seventy-six delegates were accredited but the results showed only 4,774 voted with 90 votes counted as invalid.

?After declaring the result, the chairman of the electoral committee, Lumumpah Adeh, said:  We had three aspirants screened by the APC Screening Committee and they are Barrister Adebayo Shittu, Dr. Wasiu Abayomi Lam-Adesina and Ajimobi.

? Yesterday ?we had interaction with all the aspirants but one of the aspirants, Barrister Adebayo Shittu, indicated that he was not going to participate in the exercise. He submitted a petition but that would not stop the exercise; and it is by way of information. His petition or letter will be forwarded to the national secretariat of the party.        

Latest in this Category