Alao-Akala May Dump PDP, As Folarin Picks Guber Ticket

[caption id="attachment_3114" align="alignleft" width="400"]Folarin Folarin[/caption]

Former Governor Adebayo Alao-Akala has said he would continue to pursue his aspiration to return to office in 2015, despite a crushing defeat handed him at the Oyo Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, primaries.

Akala, who addressed his supporters in his native town of Ogbomoso said, “We cannot but experience such travail as we are going through at this time, but we should be conscious of what moves we make because it’s not a personal decision; people have been involved and they shall be duly involved in making any further decision.”

Akala added: “I am still in the race and we are going to participate and win the 2015 election by God’s grace. There   is no cause to panic or worry about anything.”

A former Senate Leader Teslim Folarin won the party’s ticket, after he polled 167 against Akala’s two votes. Akala’s former deputy, Hazeem Gbolarumi, 12 votes, while another aspirant, Seyi Makinde was not voted for. Makinde, who boycotted the election, forwarded a protest letter to the party’s national leadership, alleging a foul play during the primaries.

The contention of the losing aspirants was the adoption of statutory delegates for voting in the election. The statutory delegates comprised state executive members of the party,   its Board of Trustees, National Assembly members from the state, House of Assembly members and five delegates from the 33 councils.

With Folarin’s emergence, the political complexion of next year’s election in Oyo State appears a predominantly Ibadan affair. Incumbent Governor Abiodun Ajimobi, Folarin, and a former Governor, who may again throw his hat into the ring, Rasheedi Ladoja, are all from Ibadan. Wahab Shittu, a serial contestant and likely to file out again, and governorship hopeful, Senator Femi Lanlehin, who defected from the APC to Accord Party are also Ibadan indigenes.



Latest in this Category

?> ?>