Renard Drops Drogba From AFCON 2015 Squad

Ivory Coast Head Coach Herve Renard has named his final 23-man that will feature in the 2015 African Cup of Nations, AFCON to be staged in Equatorial Guinea without Chelsea striker Didier Drogba.

[caption id="attachment_3641" align="alignnone" width="225"]Drogba Drogba[/caption]

The list was revealed on Monday evening by Ivory Coast FA in what saw the country among the last countries to submit their squad, apart from the hosts, DR Congo and Guinea.

Renard did not include Drogba and Didier Zokora who retired after it became clear they had no intention change their stands despite speculation and clamour by fans. Emmanuel Eboue who has had a torrid season with lack of playing time will not have a chance to reinvent himself in a bid to turn around his fortunes at the tournament.

The Elephants will feature in the showpiece for a record 21st appearance seeking their second title since 1992. The team will camp in Abu Dhabi from 5-16 January, 2015 ahead of the competition where they will be based in Malabo.

Squad : Goalkeepers: Gbohouo Sylvain (Sewe), Mande sayouba (Staebek) and Coppa Barry (Lokeren), Defenders: Aurier Serge (PSG), Tiene Sakia (Montpelier), Viera Ousmane (Rizesport), Kolo Toure ( Liverpool ), Wilfried Kanon (ADO), Eric Bertrand Bailly (RCD Espanyol) and Akpa Akpro Jean-Daniel (Toulouse), Midfielders: Diomande Ismael ( St Etienne ), Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Serey Die Geoffrey (Bâle), Doukouré Cheick (Metz ), Tiote Cheick (Newcastle), Gradel Max (St Etienne) and Assale Roger (Sewe San Pedr ), Forwards: Gervinho (AS Roma), Kalou Salomon (Hertha Berlin), Traore Lacina (Monaco), Tallo Junior (Bastia), Bony Wilfried (Swansea) and Seydou Doumbia (CSKA Moscow).


Latest in this Category

?> ?>