APC Now Majority Party In The House Of Reps, PDP Bemoans Loss

[caption id="attachment_2801" align="alignleft" width="388"]Tambuwal Tambuwal[/caption]

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, on Wednesday suffered a loss in the House of Representatives, following the defection of eight of its former members to the All Progressives Party, APC, and other smaller political parties. Garba Ulma, Zakari Ibrahim, Ibrahim Kamba and Abdulmalik Cheche were four of the lawmakers who decided to pitch their tents with the APC, which currently appears to have gained the majority number of seats – 179 - in the lower chamber.

The Social Democratic Party, SDP, also chipped from the PDP with the cross-carpeting of Wilson Nathaniel, while Tony Madwatte, and the duo of Benjamin Aboho and  Nwogbo moved into the Peoples Democratic Movement and All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA respectively.

APGA also lost Forte Dike to the APC, and Deputy Chairman, House Committee on Media and Public Affairs, Victor Ogene defected from APGA to the APC.

Among the parties to whom former PDP lawmakers defected, APC was the biggest gainers with six new members, thereby changing the political calculations in the360-membered green chamber. The defectors are disgruntled over the outcomes of their former party primaries, in which they failed to clinch return tickets to the House, or purported division in their former parties.

Aside the  defection drama, the House of Representatives amended the Electoral Act 2010 to empower the Independent National Electoral Commission allow voting by Internally Displaced Persons.

The action came to be due to INEC’s excuse that it lacked power to allow the displaced persons vote. The amendment was proposed by Albert Tsam-Tsokwa, (PDP Taraba State) and unanimously approved by members and was passed along with the new Electoral Act.

Latest in this Category

?> ?>