Nine PDP Senators Defect To APC

The Peoples Democratic Party caucus in the national assembly has further depleted with the defection of nine members of the party to the opposition All Progressives Congress, APC.

The defectors are Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi Central); Bassey Otu (Cross River South); Barnabas Gemade (Benue North East); Mohammed Magoro ( Kebbi South); Nurudeen Abatemi-Usman ( Kogi Central); Helen Esuene (Akwa Ibom); and Ita Enang (Akwa Ibom North East ). Others are Ahmed Zannah (Borno Central) and Saidu Alkali (Gombe North).

The defectors are disgruntled over the outcomes of the primaries held in their various states to pick elective representatives of the party for next month elections. Controversies arising from the primaries have pitted the affected lawmakers, seeking return to the legislature, against their state governors whom they believed were aided by the national leadership of the party to disfavor them.

One of them, Senator Enang told journalists in Abuja on Tuesday that whereas he was “working for the APC to ensure that it wins governorship election down to any other position. I will only work for Jonathan for presidency.”

As it stands, the PDP now has 64 of the 109 senators in the senate, APC 41 members, and other parties five.

Latest in this Category

?> ?>