Sirisena Sworn In As Sri Lanka President

Sri Lanka now has a new president, Maithripala Sirisena it is. He has been sworn after a fiercely contested election that halted former president Mahinda Rajapakse's 10-year rule. The historic election was peaceful, with Rajapakse accepting defeat, prompting admittance of oath on Sirisena and new Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe at the took the Colombo’s Independence Square on Friday. Accusations of corruption against Rajapakse, and mounting anger over his rewriting of the federation island's constitution after his re-election in 2010 contributed to his woes. The former president had removed the two-term limit on the presidency and gave himself more powers over public servants and judges.
Sirisena has announced resumption of friendliness with the West which accused the island's former government of wartime rights abuses.
“We will have a foreign policy that will mend our ties with the international community and all international organisations in order that we derive maximum benefit for our people,” he said.

Latest in this Category

?> ?>