Eagles’ Iwobi, Iheanacho Shortlisted For UEFA Award

By Adebayo Williams

Super Eagles players Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi have been shortlisted for the UEFA Golden Boy Award. The 40-man list also includes Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford and Tottenham’s Dele Alli. Iheanacho has been in fine form under City’s new boss Pep Guardiola while Iwobi has broken the Gunners first eleven this year.

UEFA’s prize is awarded with regards to the performances of players under the age of 21 in a calendar year, with the winner decided by a panel of 30 journalists. Late year’s edition was won by United’s Anthony Martial while Paul Pogba, Raheem Sterling, Wayne Rooney and Cesc Fabregas are also previous winners. The favourites for the 2016 edition of the award are Bayern Munich pair Kingsley Coman and Renato Sanches.

You should also read

Sign up for our Newsletter

Enter your email and stay on top of things,