Ondo Poll: APC To Conduct Fresh Primaries

Ondo governorship aspirants in the All Progressives Congress, APC, are to face fresh primaries. This effectively stops Rotimi Akeredolu, the winner of the previous primaries, from being the party’s flagbearer in the forthcoming poll. The new primary election was part of the suggestions made by the party’s appeals committee, headed by Hellen Bendega. Other recommendations included using original delegates’ list given to aspirants earlier in Abuja for the new primaries.

The appeals panel cited “serious and weighty, identified irregularities” in the previous primaries.

Two of the aspirants, who contested the previous primaries, and some party leaders, petitioned the APC leadership over the primaries outcome. They are Olusola Oke, Dr. Olusegun Abraham and Prof. Ajayi Boroffice; Adegboyega Adedipe, Akintunde Temitope, and a delegate Toyin Ajinde.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Enter your email and stay on top of things,