2015 Champions Vow to Defend Asoju Oba Molade Okoya-Thomas Titles

Just like he did in 2015, Ahmed Adeyinka is not ready to surrender his men’s singles title at this year’s Asoju Oba Molade Okoya-Thomas Cup holding at the Teslim Balogun Stadium.

Also, women’s singles defending champion, Bose Odusanya is poised to become the first player in recent time to win the competition back-to-back.

From Adeyinka, the just concluded NTTF National Championships would have given him the ample opportunity to shape and assess some of his possible opponents for the championship.

A confident Adeyinka said: “Nothing can stop me from holding on to the title because I am going to be unstoppable. “I think I can retain the title again this year because I don’t see anybody stopping me from holding on to the title. There is no doubt that the NTTF National Championships has prepared most of the players for the championship. I had won it in 2014 and 2015 and for me this year will not be an exception. But I must also admit that I won’t play to the gallery because there are lots of good players that will be aiming for the title as well. I am hoping that I can also inscribe my name in the annals of the competition’s history. It was out former coach that is still holding the record as the most successful player in the competition and I hope I can also meet up with his feat,” Adeyinka boasted.

As the oldest sporting competition in Nigeria, the annual championship has been breeding players for the country since 1968 and it has produced some of the great stars for the continent. The likes of Atanda Musa, late Yomi Bankole, Bose Kaffo and current African women singles champion, Olufunke Oshonaike were former champions of the tournament which started in 1968.

You should also read

Sign up for our Newsletter

Enter your email and stay on top of things,