Nigerian Players Fail To Make CAF Awards Final Shortlist

By Adebayo Williams

The Confederation of African Football announced its final shortlist for the 2016 African Player of the Year award with Super Eagles players missing. The trio of Kelechi Iheanacho, Mikel Obi and Ahmed Musa failed to make the final cut. Gabonese forward, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez and Islam Slimani, Senegal’s Sadio Mane and Egypt’s Mohammed Salah made the final list.

In the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) category, Dennis Onyango, Hlompho Kekana, Keegan Dolly and Khama Billiat from the 2016 African Champions League winning side, Mamelodi Sundowns made the mark with T.P Mazembe’s Rainford Kabala completing the list. The winners will be decided by votes from the head coaches and Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF.

The Glo/CAF awards gala nite will take place on Thursday, 5 January, 2017 at the International Conference Centre, Abuja, Nigeria.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Enter your email and stay on top of things,