Ondo, Ekiti, Confirm As T’Tennis Championship Registration Deadline Looms

Ondo, Ekiti, Osun, Ogun states have confirmed their participation for the Nigeria Table Tennis Federation (NTTF)-organised National Championship as registration deadline looms for the five-day tournament.

  Ondo, a team that has continued to dominate major competitions within the country will be hoping to re-enact their form despite the exodus of some of their top players like Ojo Onaolapo and Boboye Adeniran to Europe. However, Coach Dotun Omoniyi will be relying on the national junior star, Omeh Amadi while Ekiti will be led by Tosin Oribamise.

  According to the Secretary General of NTTF, Chinedu Ezeala-Ogundare, teams like Ondo, Ekiti, Osun and Ogun have all finalized their registration for the competition, while the final entry for the championship has been fixed for November 7.

  “Already the first deadline was October 31 and while teams that failed to meet up with the deadline have been given the opportunity to register but they are expected to fail the fine for not meeting up with the first deadline. However, she said November 7 is the final entry of all the teams, adding that any team that fail to meet the date will not be allowed to be part of the championship,” she said.

  She however, said the federation would want to finalise the arrangement for the kick-off of the championship on November 15 with mouthwatering prize money at stake at the tournament scheduled to hold at the Indoor Hall of the National Stadium as well as the National Training Centre. 18 titles are expected to be battled for at the six-day championship.

  For the tournament director, John Peters, the championship is aimed at complementing the efforts of the federation at unearthing talents, as well as keeps the local players active for major competitions within and outside the country.

You should also read

Sign up for our Newsletter

Enter your email and stay on top of things,