Akwa Ibom House of Assembly Approves Commissioners’ List

By Bright Bassey

Akwa Ibom State lawmakers have confirmed the list of 18 nominees to be appointed commissioners and special advisers in the state’s executive council.

The nominees were approved by members of the Assembly through a unanimous voice vote after a 7-hour thorough screening exercise.

Prior to the confirmation, Chairman, House Committee on Judiciary, Justice, Human Rights and Public petitions, Aniefiok Dennis had submitted a report to the house ascertaining the capacity of the nominees whom he said to “have met the constitutional requirement and have been found to be men and women of tested proven integrity”

Dennis added he trusted in their ability to carry out  their responsibilities effectively.

Ekong Sampson from Mkpat Enin and Ekemini David Umohfrom Abak were cleared for the position of Special Advisers.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Enter your email and stay on top of things,