Four Nigerian Poets Shortlisted For Brunel Poetry Prize

Four Nigerians have been named in the 10-man list of poets competing for the 2017 Brunel International African Poetry Prize with the winner taking away a cash prize of £3000.

The prize which, according to the organisers, is aimed at the development, celebration and promotion of poetry from Africa is sponsored by Brunel University London and Commonwealth Writers and is open to African poets worldwide who have not yet published a full poetry collection.

According to the list issued by the judges, after due deliberation, Nigerian poets, Saddiq Dzukogi, Rasak Malik Gbolahan, Kechi Nomu and Romeo Origun are in the running for the prize.

They will slug it out with Sahro Ali (Somalia) Leila Chatti (Tunisia), Kayo Chingonyi (Zambia), Yalie Kamara (Sierra Leone), Richard Oduour Oduku (Kenya) and Nick Makoha (Uganda).

They were selected by judges  Chris Abani (Northwestern University); Kwame Dawes (University of Nebraska); Safia Elhillo (winner of the 2015 Prize); Patricia Jabbeh Welsley (Penn State University) and Chair and founder, Bernardine Evaristo (Brunel University London).


By Tony Nwanne

Sign up for our Newsletter

Enter your email and stay on top of things,