NATO Expels Seven Russian Diplomats


The North Atlantic Treaty Organisation, NATO, has expelled seven Russian diplomats, while it has also denied accreditation to three more, AFP reports, quoting NATO’s Secretary General, Jens Stoltenberg.

Among other things, NATO promotes democratic values and enables its 29-member countries to consult and cooperate on defence and security-related issues to solve problems, build trust and, in the long run, prevent conflict.

“NATO is committed to the peaceful resolution of disputes. If diplomatic efforts fail, it has the military power to undertake crisis-management operations.

 “These are carried out under the collective defence clause of NATO’s founding treaty – Article 5 of the Washington Treaty or under a United Nations mandate, alone or in cooperation with other countries and international organisations,” information on its site says.

Latest in this Category