Ronaldo, Mourinho Win Portuguese Awards


Cristiano Ronaldo and Jose Mourinho have been recognised for their achievements in football at the Quina Awards, the annual awards of the Portuguese Football Association, in Lisbon. Ronaldo won the Player of the Year award onMonday night. He beat off competition from Sporting Lisbon's Rui Patricio and Manchester City's Bernado Silva.

The Real Madrid talisman won a hooping 65% of the votes while Patricio came second with 18% and Bernado third with 17%. The 33-year-old has dedicated the award to his colleagues and his four children.

Also, Mourinho was handed the Vasco da Gama prize for being a good ambassador of Portuguese football abroad. Monaco's Leonardo Jardim won the Best Manager Award for leading his side to a Ligue 1 title and a semi-final finish in the 2017 Champions League.

Latest in this Category