Oshiomhole, Onu Join APC Chairmanship Race


Adam Oshiomhole, a former governor of Edo state; Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of Science and Technology; and Ken Nnamani, a former senate president, have joined the race to become chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Daily Trust reports.

The party's outgoing chairman, John Odigie-Oyegun, had been on course for a tenure elongation before President Muhammadu Buhari rejected the move.

β€œI think it is important to talk on the contentious issues of the tenure of our national and state executive officers. As we all know, the motion was moved at the last NEC meeting February 27, 2018, to the effect that when the tenure of the current executive expires in June this year, they should be allowed to continue for one year,” he said.

β€œOn my own part, I have taken some time to review and seek advice on the resolution and what I have found is that it contravenes our party constitution and the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. In this circumstance, what is expected of us is to conduct fresh election once the tenure of the current executives approaches its end.”

However, Bolaji Abdullahi, spokesman of the party, has said that Oyegun remains the chairman of the party. He also said the party had set up a committee to look into the President's comment.


Latest in this Category