Russia Swears In Putin For Fourth Term


Vladimir Putin has been sworn in as the President of Russia for the fourth time. He has been handed the symbols of state power by Valery Zorkin, he Constitutional Court Chairan, after he took his oath of office.

Putin had won the elections which held on March 18, 2018, gaining 76.69 per cent of the total votes.

He has been serving as President of Russia since 7 May 2012, previously holding the position from 2000 until 2008. He was Prime Minister of Russia from 1999 until the beginning of his first presidency in 2000, and again between presidencies from 2008 until 2012.

During his first term as Prime Minister, he served as Acting President of Russia due to the resignation of President Boris Yeltsin. During his second term as Prime Minister, he was the chairman of the ruling United Russia party.

Putin was born in Leningrad in the Soviet Union. He studied law at Leningrad State University, graduating in 1975. He was a KGB foreign intelligence officer for 16 years, rising to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel before resigning in 1991 to enter politics in Saint Petersburg.

Latest in this Category