Bayelsa Commissioner Resigns, Defects To APC


Otobo Ibarakumo, the Bayelsa State Commissioner for Youth Development, has resigned from the cabinet of Governor Seriake Dickson.

Following his resignation, Ibarakumo, who was also a Special Adviser to the Executive Governor of Bayelsa on Youths, on Wednesday, led a throng of supporters as they left the Peoples Democratic Party, the ruling party in the state, and defected to the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The event, which took place at the APC secretariat in Yenizue-Gene, Yenagoa, also had a former Director, Centre for Youth Development, representing Nembe Local Government in Dickson’s administration, who defected to the national ruling party alongside his supporters.

Receiving the defectors into the APC, Timipre Sylva, the Leader of the party in the state, who was represented by Israel Sunny-Goli, a member representing Brass Constituency 1 in the Bayelsa House of Assembly, congratulated them on their decision to dump the PDP.

He boasted that the APC would take over the Creek Haven (Bayelsa Government House) in 2020, urging party faithful to come together to ensure the defeat of the PDP.

Several chieftains of the party attended the event including Wilberforce Igiri, running mate to former Governor Timipre Sylva in 2015 governorship election; Jonathan Amos, Bayelsa APC State Chairman, APC; member, Peres Peretu, Board of Trustees, among others.


Latest in this Category