Amokachi, Kanu, Other Nigerians Who Have Won FA Community Shield

English Premier League champions Manchester City and FA Cup holders Chelsea, will go head-to-head when they clash in the 2018 FA
Community Shield at Wembley Stadium on Sunday. Super Eagles forward Victor Moses is expected to be in action for Chelsea against
the EPL champions. In this piece,'s JAMES AGBEREBI names five Nigerians, past and present, who have won the FA
Community Shield.

DANIEL AMOKACHI (Everton: 1995)

Former Nigerian international, Daniel Amokachi, was an unused substitute for Everton who edged Blackburn Rovers 1-0 to emerge winners of the 1995 FA Community Shield.

Vinny Samways was the hero for Everton as his 57th minute goal secured his side their ninth Community Shield title.
Everton had won the FA Cup after beating Manchester United 1-0 in the final, while Blackburn Rovers were crowned Premier League champions.

NWANKWO KANU (Arsenal: 1999)

Nwankwp Kanu was the star of the 1999 Community Shield after helping Arsenal beat Manchester United 2-1.
Kanu was voted Man of the Match after scoring and providing an assist as Arsenal came from 1-0 down to claim victory.

Dwight Yorke had given Manchester United the lead but Kanu equalised for Arsenal from the penalty spot.

Kanu later provided the assist which Ray Parlour converted with less than 15 minutes remaining.


In the 2000 FA Community Shield, Chelsea faced Manchester United and triumphed 2-0 with ex-Super Eagles defender Celestine
Babayaro in action for Chelsea.
Babayaro who joined Chelsea from Belgian side Anderlecht, played the full 90 minutes of the game with Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink and
Mario Melchiot scoring for the Blues.
The game was the last Community Shield tie to be played at the old Wembley Stadium before it was demolished.


Current Super Eagles skipper John Mikel Obi was in action for Chelsea who beat Manchester United 4-1 on penalties in the 2009 FA
Community Shield. Regulation time saw both teams tied at 2-2.

Ricardo Carvalho and Frank Lampard scored for Chelsea, while Nani and Wayne Rooney were on target for Manchester United.

Mikel who was in the starting line-up for Chelsea, was later replaced by Michael Ballack in the 65th minute.

Mikel had lost in four previous Community Shield ties  (2007, 2010, 2012 and 2015)

ALEX IWOBI (Arsenal: 2015 and 2017)

Arsenal edged Chelsea 1-0 in the 2015 Community Shield following a stunning left-foot strike from Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain.

Among Arsenal's substitutes was then upcoming Nigerian forward Alex Iwobi who however did not play.

In the 2017 Community Shield between Arsenal and Chelsea, Iwobi was in action as the Gunners emerged victorious.
Iwobi was later replaced by former Arsenal star Theo Walcott in the 67th minute.
Victor Moses had given Chelsea the lead on 46 minutes before Sead Kolasinac equalised for Arsenal with eight minutes left.
Arsenal went on to win 4-1 on penalties to he crowned 2017 Community Shield champions.

Latest in this Category