APC’s Haruna Isah Wins Lokoja/Kogi Federal Constituency By-Election


Haruna Isah, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, has won Saturday's by-election for the Lokoja/Kogi constituency seat in the House of Representatives.

The by-election was conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, to fill the vacancy created by the death of Umar Buba Jibrin, the former occupant under the platform of the APC, who died on March 30.

Declaring the results on Sunday, Rotimi Ajayi, the Returning Officer, said Isah polled 26, 860 votes, which was the highest number of votes gotten by any of the candidates.

Isah gained a difference of over 12,000 votes as his closest rival, Bashir Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, got 14, 845 votes.

Ahmed Imam of the Social Democratic Party, SDP,  got 2, 916 votes, while the candidates of the Accord Party and Alternative Democratic Congress scored 149 votes and 2,984 votes, respectively.

The returning officer also announced that the Labour Party candidate scored 90 votes; Democratic Alternative polled 159 votes; while the Mega Party of Nigeria candidate got 50 votes.

Ajayi also disclosed that a total number of 19,960 votes from 17 polling units were cancelled due to violence and other malpractices,

According to him, 15 of the affected polling units were in Lokoja Local Government Area, while two were from Kogi Local Government Area.



Latest in this Category