Home / News / 2019 Polls: INEC Conducts Supplementary Guber Elections In Five States Today

2019 Polls: INEC Conducts Supplementary Guber Elections In Five States Today

All is set as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will on Saturday (today) conduct supplementary governorship elections in five states of the federation in continuation of the 2019 general elections.

The polls were rescheduled after the governorship elections in Bauchi, Benue, Kano, Plateau, Sokoto, and Adamawa states were declared inconclusive, following the initial polls conducted on March 9.

Read Also: INEC Declares Plateau, Adamawa, Sokoto, Bauchi Guber Elections Inconclusive

The Returning Officers for the various elections said the electoral process in the aforementioned states could not be concluded as the margin of lead between the two leading candidates in the elections was lesser than the number of cancelled votes.

The 2010 Electoral Act (as amended) stipulates that a supplementary election must be conducted within 21 days after initial election is declared inconclusive.

Read Also: INEC Declares Benue, Kano Guber Elections Inconclusive

However, the supplementary governorship election scheduled for Adamawa State will be deferred following a court order.

Mustafa Shaba, the governorship candidate of the Movement For Restoration and Defense for Democracy (MRDD), had dragged INEC to court over the failure of the electoral umpire to include his party’s logo in the initial March 9 election.

Read Also: Adamawa Supplementary Election May Not Hold Due To Court Order – INEC

A high court in Yola, the state capital, last week ruled in favour of Shaba, restraining INEC from conducting any supplementary election pending the determination of the suit filed by the MRDD candidate.

In Bauchi State, supplementary elections will be held in 36 polling units in 14 Local Government Areas of the state.

However, there will be no election in Tafawa Balewa LGA after a Federal High Court in Abuja barred INEC from going ahead with the exercise pending the determination of the suit brought before it. 

Read Also: Bauchi: INEC Challenges Court Order Stopping Collation Of Results

Bala Mohammed, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), polled 469,512 votes, while Mohammed Abubakar, the incumbent governor and the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate is behind with 465,453 votes. 

The re-run poll will also be conducted in 204 polling units in 22 LGAs of Benue State.

Samuel Ortom, the incumbent governor and the PDP candidate, polled 410,576 votes, while Emmanuel Jime of the APC trails with 329,022 votes.

The supplementary election in Kano State will be conducted in 208 polling units in 29 LGAs in the state.

PDP’s Abba Yusuf polled a total of 1,014,353 votes, while APC’s Abdullahi Ganduje, the incumbent governor, follows with 953,522 votes.

Read Also: INEC Fixes March 23 For Supplementary Polls In Six States

In Plateau State, 48,828 voters in 40 polling units across nine LGAs will have the opportunity to cast their ballot and, ultimately, decide the next governor of Plateau State.

Simon Lalong, the incumbent governor and candidate of the APC polled a total of 583,255 votes while Jerry Useni of the PDP is behind with 538,326 votes.

A total number of 135 polling units in 22 LGAs of Sokoto State will also have elections conducted there.

Governor Aminu Tambuwal of the PDP polled 489, 558 votes, while his closest rival, APC’s Ahmad Aliyu trails with 486, 145 votes.

Also, supplementary elections will be conducted for the State House of Assembly elections in 17 states, after the initial election on March 9, were also declared inconclusive.

Elections will be held in two constituencies in Adamawa, three in Bayelsa, nine in Benue, three in Ebonyi, five in Imo and one in Bauchi, Edo, Ekiti, Kaduna and Kano states respectively.

The elections will also be held in four constituencies in Nasarawa, three in Kogi, two in Sokoto and Taraba and one in Lagos, Osun, and Plateau states simultaneously.

There will also be supplementary elections conducted in four area councils of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

A total number of 29,796 voters in the affected area councils are expected to participate in the rescheduled exercise.

Read Also: Supplementary Polls: IGP Deploys 23 Top Officers Across States

Ahead of today’s elections, Mohammed Adamu, the acting Inspector General of Police, has deployed five Deputy Inspectors General of Police, three Assistant Inspectors General of Police, and 15 Commissioners of Police to provide supervision, direction and support to the existing security structure already in place in those States.

According to a statement by Frank Mba, the police spokesman, the DIGs deployed are as follows: DIG Usman Tilli Abubakar – Adamawa State, DIG Yakubu Jubrin – Benue State, DIG Frederick Taiwo Lakanu – Plateau State, DIG Anthony Ogbizi Michael – Kano State and DIG Godwin C. Nwobodo  – Bauchi State.

Out of the 15 additional CPs deployed, three each were deployed to Benue and Sokoto states, two each were deployed to Adamawa, Bauchi, Kano and Plateau States while Imo State got one.



About Gabriel Ntoka

Check Also

Boko Haram Exploiting Nigerians’ Religious Differences – Lai Mohammed

Lai Mohammed, Minister of Information, has said Boko Haram is trying to exploit the religious …

Shehu Sani

Politicians In North Use Almajiri For Elections, Census – Shehu Sani

Shehu Sani, former lawmaker who represented Kaduna Central district in the eight senate, has accused …

Leave a Reply

WhatsApp Newsbreak