Oshiomhole Welcomes Yuguda, 17 Other Defectors In Bauchi


Adams Oshiomhole, National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has formally welcomed Isa Yuguda, former Bauchi State governor, and 17 other prominent politicians in the state back to the ruling party.

Oshiomhole received the defectors at an event on Saturday ahead of President Muhammadu Buhari’s campaign in the state.

Yuguda and other defectors such as Abdulmalik Mahmood, the state’s former deputy governor; and Senators Abubakar Maikafi and Babayo Gamawa, among others, were members of the APC but decamped to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Uba Nana, Bauchi State APC chairman, who presented the defectors to Oshiomhole, applauded the newly returned members for leaving the PDP at the appropriate time.

Nana encouraged the defectors to put the party’s interest above all other partisan considerations and urged them to contribute to the APC’s development in the state.

Oshiomhole then handed over the broom, the APC’s symbol to the defectors.

The ruling party’s chairman urged the defectors to work for the party’s victory in the 2019 general elections.

Yuguda, who spoke on behalf of the defectors, thanked the APC leadership for the reception granted to them, pledging that they would work hard to ensure the party’s victory in the upcoming elections.

He also asked the party to forgive them for their previous transgressions when they decamped to the PDP.

Latest in this Category