Okorocha, Ambode, Others To Earn N2.06bn As Severance Allowance – Report


Outgoing governors, their deputies and 434 state lawmakers whose tenure would expire on May 29, would be paid N2.06 billion as severance allowance, a report has revealed.

Governors such as Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State, Rochas Okorocha of Imo State, Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State, Ibrahim Dakwambo of Gombe State, Mohammed Abubakar of Bauchi State and others who would not be returning to their respective states’ government houses would pocket N6.67 million each as their allowance, the Punch reports.

This, according to the newspaper, is from a template obtained from the Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC).

Read Also: Saraki, 216 Outgoing NASS Members To Receive N1.3bn Severance Allowance – Report

The template also reveals that the outgoing deputy governors will be paid N6.34 million as their severance allowance.

The 14 governors and their deputies will, therefore, receive a total of N182.11m at the expiration of their tenures on May 29.

It was, however, gathered that the severance allowance by the RMAFC is separate from the packages purportedly being packaged by states for the outgoing political heads of states.

Similarly, a total number of 434 lawmakers in the 36 states houses of assemblies who would not be returning as their constituents’ representatives in June will be paid N1.88bn. Each state lawmaker is entitled to 300 per cent of their annual basic salary as severance allowance, which N4.34 million each.

Severance allowance is one of the irregular allowances that are paid to elected political office holders. The irregular allowances are not paid on a monthly basis. 

Latest in this Category