EFCC Seals Off Saraki’s Houses In Lagos – Report


The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has sealed off some houses in Lagos State belonging to Senator Bukola Saraki, the Senate President, a report has revealed.

The houses, which are located at 15a, 15b and 17 MacDonald Road, Ikoyi, Lagos, were said to have confiscated by the EFCC on Friday, according to the Punch.

A relative of the Senate President, however, claimed that some of the houses seized do not belong to the Kwara Central federal lawmaker.

The source said: “The EFCC had been making inquiries into the finances and assets of Saraki for quite some time. They came to inscribe ‘EFCC, Under Investigation’ in red on the walls and the fences. The irony is that even houses that don’t belong to Saraki were marked.

“From what we were told, they are keeping him under strict surveillance ahead of May 29, 2019, when they may invite him.”

The houses on 15a and 15b MacDonald Road were declared by Senator Saraki in his asset declaration form. However, there is some form of uncertainty as to whether the Senate President owns other buildings seized by the EFCC.

During Senator Saraki’s trial before the Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT) in 2016, the EFCC claimed that he bought the houses from the Presidential Committee on Sale of Federal Government Landed Properties in Lagos through his companies.

Michael Wetkas, the EFCC witness, claimed that investigations had revealed that the properties on 15a, 15b and 17 were bought through TYNITY Company Limited, which he declared in the asset declaration form, and Skyview Properties, which he said was another company of Senator Saraki.

But when asked to clarify the ownership of the properties, Wetkas told the tribunal that the presidential committee confirmed the sale of the building in No 15 as the only property sold to TYNITY Company Limited.

The seizure of the houses comes just days after the EFCC announced that it was re-launching a probe into the activities of Senator Saraki while he served as Governor of Kwara State between 2003-2011.


Latest in this Category