Home / News / Rerun: APC Wins Imo, Ogun; Splits Kaduna, Cross River With PDP

Rerun: APC Wins Imo, Ogun; Splits Kaduna, Cross River With PDP

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)has declared more results for the 28 rerun of the National Assembly and the State Houses of Assembly constituencies conducted on Saturday, with the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) both securing wins in various states.

The APC claimed victory in Imo and Ogun states, while it shared the spoils with the PDP in Kaduna and Cross River states. The PDP also won the legislative rerun conducted in Benue State, while APGA emerged victorious in Abia State.

Read Also: Abdulmumin Jibrin Loses Kano Rep Seat

Miriam Onuoha, the APC candidate for the Okigwe north federal constituency, was declared winner of the election, polling 23,690 votes to defeat Obinna Onwubuariri of the PDP who got 10,010 votes.

In Ogun State, the APC’s Kolapo Osunsanya emerged winner of the rerun for Ijebu-Ode/Odogbolu/Ijebu north-east federal constituency after he garnered 25,959 votes to defeat his closest rival, Taiwo Shote of the PDP, who scored 21,911 votes.

Nuhu Goro of the APC clinched Kagarko state constituency seat in Kaduna State as he polled 24,658 votes to defeat Morondia Tanko of the PDP who garnered 20,206 votes.

The PDP, however, emerged victorious in the Sanga state constituency also in Kaduna as Comfort Amwe of the PDP polled 19,815 votes to defeat APC’s Haliru Dangana, who got 19,688 votes.

The victory was also split in Cross River State as Alex Egbonna of the APC was declared winner of the Yakurr/Abi federal constituency rerun having polled 29,716 votes to defeat John Lebo of the PDP, who got 26,039 votes.

But the PDP won the Abi state constituency as Davies Etta, its candidate, polled 13,349 votes, while Eyeng Iwqara of the APC trailed behind with 8, 792 votes.

Read Also: PDP Wins Bauchi Federal Constituency Rerun

In Abia State, the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) won the two constituencies in which the rerun was conducted.

Obinna Ichita was declared winner of the Aba south state constituency with 4,634 votes, defeating his closest rival, the PDP’s Clinton Ebere, who had 3,154 votes.

Mike Ukoha of APGA also won in the Arochukwu constituency rerun after polling 6,550 votes to defeat Eric Kalu of the PDP.

The PDP emerged victorious in Benue State as Christopher Adaji, its candidate, polled 6,742 votes, while Musa Aleichenu came a close second with 6,341 votes.




About Gabriel Ntoka

Check Also

Ibrahim Magu

I’m Being Paraded Like A Common Criminal, Laments Magu

Ibrahim Magu, suspended acting chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), has complained …

COVID-19: Obasanjo Prevents Associates From Attending Mother-in-law’s Funeral

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo shut out his close associates and aides during the funeral of …

Leave a Reply

WhatsApp Newsbreak