Home / News / Politics / What Fayose, Aregbesola, Others Discussed
Aregbesola and Fayose

What Fayose, Aregbesola, Others Discussed

Ayodele Fayose, governor of Ekiti, alongside Governor Rauf Aregbesola, Osun; Akinwunmi Ambode, Ogun; Abiola Ajimobi, Oyo; Olusegun Mimiko, Ondo; and Yetunde Onanuga, deputy governor of Ogun, resolved Monday to quicken development of the South-West region of Nigeria.

The governors met in Ado-Ekiti, the capital of Ekiti state, and agreed to

pursue the goals of the “DAWN Commission” (Development Agenda for Western Nigeria}. The communique issued at the end of the meeting, as read by the host governor (Fayose), said the governors show better commitment to the funding the DAWN Commission.

They agreed to form a Regional Technical Working Group that will achieve a multi-modal transportation system, comprising highways, rail and water sectors across the South-West. Also agreed by them is a uniform education curriculum for the region to address the declining moral values in the society. Another resolution reached is that each state will donate a centre for to drive economic integration agenda for the region.

More so, a food exchange programme to be spearheaded by Lagos state under the South West Regional Integrated Commercial Agriculture Development Programme is to be established. On sports, Lagos state was mandated to host the first DAWN inter-collegiate games to strengthen the bonds and competitiveness among the youth.

Adefola Ademosu

Check Also

Edo Assembly Faction Threatens To Impeach Obaseki

A faction of the Edo State House of Assembly has threatened to impeach Godwin Obaseki …

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos

Lagos Not Well Represented In FG Agencies, Decries Sanwo-Olu

Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Governor of Lagos State, has insisted that there is a low representation of …

Leave a Reply

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
WhatsApp Newsbreak